UX Design Survey – Castle App

Image

This image is rather appropriate for how this project is going for me right now since I still feel like I’m searching for how I am going to make this work in an interesting and engaging way. I have to stop thinking so one-dimensionally! >_<

Strategy

  1. What do you want to get out of your project? I want to make an app that targets Castle fans and allows users to discover and make connections between the tv show and the real-world books (and maybe even include the other connections included in the show; ie. Firefly )
  2. What do your users want to get out of your project? I want users to challenge themselves to find these connections (like in a game sense) and to have fun discovering and recognizing the show’s tv world-real world complexities. Also, I have found it difficult to find anything online that makes these connections.
  3. Who are your users? Die hard Castle fans, so in this way it is more of a limited audience.
  4. How would you measure the success of your project? Well I guess at this point I would find it successful if I can find an engaging as well as asthetically pleasing way to connect events and situations presented in the book to situations that happened in the tv show. Since the books are supposed to be based off of the fictitous things that happen in the show, it’s important that fans can pick up on the references.

Structure

  1. How can you divide your content into categories? Okay this one is a bit harder to answer because I don’t think I’ve fully figured out how I’m going to do this, but I think a good way to divide the references is maybe into type of references. These could be: things that were said, characters (this category would be pretty easy since the characters are pretty 1;1), crime details, etc. Let me know if you have any other ideas!
  2. What sort of meta information can unite some or all of the content? Umm I’m unfortunately pretty stumped on this question. Since my idea is really kind of more about the connections and less about the actual “content”… I don’t know…
  3. Does your structure facilitate exploration? I’m thinking my “fan quiz” idea could be somewhat explorative by including different difficulty levels, or maybe the user could unlock more difficult questions by answering a certain number of questions correctly. Another idea would maybe be to have something that let the user know how many references they picked up on, so if they missed something or if they wanted to check their progress they could know how they were doing.
  4. Would your structure support only 5 people? 100 people? 1 million? Umm.. I’m not sure about this question. Technically the idea that I have now would make this app a one-user experience, but if we were to have a high-score board or something it could open the door to users relating to other users.

Scope

  1. What sort of functionality would your project need to be successful? Oh man, I’m still not solid on even exactly what I’m doing here so I’m not too sure. But the user would have to make selections, scroll, I suppose I can’t really think of anything too out-the-box that it would use besides just traditional app functionality.
  2. What functionality would be nice to have? I’m thinking that it would be cool to have an additional part of my app that would create a sort of Mad Lib meets Story Outline generator where the user would be able to create new book plots/stories based on things that happened in the TV show. I haven’t quite figured out how this would work or where it would fit in.
  3. What is the primary content of your site? This would probably be basic character info, episode/plot/case info, and other critical show information that is referenced in the books.
  4. What is the supplemental content? I think it would be cool if it could also include content that reflects the references that are also made on the show from the TV show Firefly or other real-world references.
Leave a Reply

