Project 2: Web-Parsing App

Okay so I decided to choose something that wasn’t on the list: A web-parsing app. So like something that could show all of your RSS Feed items. But instead of just being a reader for RSS feeds, I would want to be able for the user to specify certain items to be more important than others (ie: staring) based on “keywords” (with push notification) and to be able to parse websites that may not have an RSS feed. A good example of this is let’s say that someone really wants to go to a concert but knows that the tickets are going to sell out super fast, so what they do is to specify to this app to check a site like ticketmaster every 30 seconds and notify the user when the tickets are for sale. I’d also think that this could work for day-to-day stuff, but I’d like to specify it for someone who knows exactly what they want to see. So instead of getting any and all updates from a website’s RSS feed, they may choose to receive only the updates that they care about.

I’m going to use the class motto on this: “I don’t know if it’s possible, but anything’s possible”.

Here are some existing RSS reader sites/apps

Feedly link

Feedly1 Feedly2 Feedly3

Feedly I think is the best visual example of how I’d like to organize my app. It’s using flat design in a very visually engaging way. I don’t know that the topics tabs are working to my tastes. This is because the width is determined by the length of the words, but visually it sort of looks like it’s determining importance. And even on the content preview listing page there’s still some white space which helps it not feel as congested. I can see how the interaction could work with this app fairly easily.

Zite link

zite1 zite2 zite3 zite4

Zite seems to have a lot of small type, which can make it difficult to read. But overall it’s a pretty clean look. I think that the color separation that immediately distinguishes the combined articles helps. This app I think has been updated visually a couple of times.

Digg Reader link

digg1 digg2 digg3

The Digg Reader is as minimal design as may be possible with such a content heavy app such as this. I think that the subject folder separations is important from a usability standpoint. I like the separating of the articles by title without including a lot of text. Also the unread articles being bold helps to sort out what to read and what not. The actual “article” page has large enough type so as to be easily readable.

Pulse link

pulse3 pulse2 pulse1

 

Pulse is a more picture-based reader app. This can make the pages look a lot busier with a lot of images with text. I’m not sure this is the best approach to take for my app. The subject-based search is the cleanest looking part of this app. I think the functionality (like with the swiping) makes a lot of sense with this particular app, but may not work with the other formats.

Google Reader (This application is no longer available)

GoogleReader1 GoogleReader2

 

Google Reader looked really similar to Google’s Gmail. For this app, everything is really flat (but not in a good way) and difficult to differentiate one thing from another. Basically it’s super boring.

Other 

chrome pipes

 

These images show some underlying functionality that I would like to include in my app. Like I’d like to have the user have the choice to be able to change the frequency of how often it is updated or how the user is notified. Also the user would be able to choose keywords to parse.

Leave a Reply

