“Tracker” User Testing Results + Refined Comps

I found it a bit of a challenge to come up with a way to do some lo-fi testing of this concept. It seemed without the electronic functionality of the bracelet (the vibrating, lighting up, and the text display) the user test would just be…. wearing a bracelet. In the end I came up with this mish-mash of user testing techniques that involved some “bodystorming” and some role-playing to answer a user questionnaire.

This Tracker concept (thoughts on the name?) basically combines those little GPS tracking chips that already exist with a digital band/watch that would manage all the chips while staying independent of your phone or any other device you might lose. When your bracelet gets too far from a tagged object (or when a tagged object leaves a “fence” –a user-defined perimeter) it will light up and vibrate to alert you that you’re missing something. To simulate this experience, I used some rubber bands, a lot of yarn, and some role-playing.

bracelets

This is the plan for my user testing:

test_plan

So basically, I tied one end of the string to a rubber band with an item written on the inside and gave one “bracelet” to each of my test subjects. I held the other end of the string and gave the subjects an objective (“You’re getting off the bus, headed home after a long day”). Once they got a certain distance from the “lost object” (me), they felt a tug on their wrist. They were instructed to check what item they were “missing”, and think about what they would do after that if they had actually lost the item. After this little “bodystorming” excercise I handed out the user questionnaire and these are the responses I got (along with some really great ideas that I’ve incorporated into the project):

img054 img053 img052

With these responses, my original storyboard, and some more visual research online I created this updated drawing of what the actual bracelet would look like:

img055

And then I made these… presentation storyboard I guess you could say? outlining how I’d like to present this whole thing as well as the user interaction.

img056

img057img058img059img060img061

Leave a Reply

